New year, new beginnings.

Happy 2011 y'all! ;] When I was home in Sweden for Christmas break, everyone of my friends and family yelled at me for not updating this blog more. And I know, I've been terrible at updating this, but I am the kind of blogger that if I don't get feedback (comments) on what I write, I won't have the motivation to keep updating. So think of your comments as a fuel to my blog - the more you comment, the more I will update! :]

"Quick" recap from the last quarter:

- I had a period of time where I was feeling a little bit depressed over my life here. I had such high expectations, and even though I thought I was prepared that those expectations would not be fulfilled completely, I wasn't. The idea we Swedes have of college is from the movies. And even though, it is exactly like the movies here, you're life won't be as the characters in the movies. Yes - there are a lot of hot guys and girls here. Yes - there is a lot of partying. Yes - the campus is filled with students sitting in groups, alone studying, playing frisbee etc. But I thought I would get that Hollywood life and have that stereotypical romantic comedy ending.. No. Don't get me wrong, I LOVE it here! It's just not what I thought it would be (La-La-Land)! When I got into my down period, I completely shut down and spent most of my time in my room. Therefor, I have New Years resolutions that I will keep in mind for this year to make it better; I will be more positive and take more chances. It's a new year and since I am alive and healthy I should live my life to the fullest. I am where I want to be, and this is the time to enjoy it - before it is too late!

- School. I had a very nice and easy first quarter at college. Being an international student, I had to take an tutoring session for English along with my English class (Eng 134). Then I also had a math class and a business law class (Bus 207). I was also very lucky to get awesome teachers, that made it easy for us students. I also got better grades than I expected to get, and now have a GPA of 3.5 (4.0 is max). To be an international student and a freshman at college, a GPA of 3.5 for my first quarter at college is pretty damn good! :D I am even a part of something called The Honers Society, which is all the ones who got a GPA of 3.2 or higher, and it's really good to have on your resumé.

- Weight. That people gain weight when they go to the US, is no new thing. There is even a thing here in college called the Freshman 15 (freshman gain 15 pounds during their first year of college). It came to a shock to me however, when I stepped on to the scale at home and noticed that I had LOST 3 kg (7 pounds)!!! I mean, who loose weight in college in the US?! I'm so happy, and it gave me motivation to loose more weight here (not that I need it, but imagine how toned my body will be for the summer!? ;P)! Last quarter I went to the gym 1-2 times a week, and I also walk a lot on campus. This quarter I'm going to try and go to the gym 3-4 times a week, and also cut down on my weekly juice intake. :] These past weeks I've been doing very well; I've gone to the gym 5 times a week and I've been drinking loads of water. :] I think the reason for me doing so well is because it's a new year and a fresh start, and I also have a goal - a hot beach bod for Spring Break'11! :D

So we are now 4 weeks into the winter quarter and classes are going well. I am taking Math 116 (precalculus), Kine 250 (Healthy living), Theatre 210 and Biology 111. Really really don't like my bio class. I don't like bio to start with and it doesn't help that the class is at 7:40 AM...! Blegh. Other than that, I really like my classes, even though I'm going to have it harder this quarter than the last one. I have two midterms this week (math and bio), and one next week (theatre), so we will see how I'll do!

I think that is it for the "huge update". I promise I'm going to try and update, like once every other week or something.. :]

Love you all!
Xoxo Maddie


Ps. Oh btw! Did I tell you that it's like 25 degrees celsius and sunny here? No? Well it is. ;]

Kommentarer
Postat av: Emelie

No, you didn't tell us that. Did I tell you that this Marabou inte my hand is tasting really delicious right now? mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm..... ;3

2011-01-26 @ 10:11:13
Postat av: Sis

HURRAY! \o/



Finally visiting the blog a few times a week pays off. Lovely post, and here's for more to come!



Luuuuws you!

2011-01-26 @ 22:48:09
Postat av: mum

I´m such a proud mum!!!!!!

So honest and well written. Keep up the good work!

Love you

mamma

2011-01-27 @ 11:02:22
URL: http://lifeatcollage.blogg.se/
Postat av: Jennifer

Woo, blogginlägg! :D



Good luck on those midterms <3 äö

2011-01-27 @ 16:22:29
Postat av: auntie

Yay! Loved reading your blog, Sweetie! Can't wait to hear more. Hope you rocked the midterms. Good luck with the rest of the quarter.



xoxo Robin

ps- life's a beach, ain´t it ;)

2011-01-27 @ 20:30:00
URL: http://null
Postat av: Ruby

And she's back!!! Oh yes! Great writing, really wish we were there in the warmth with you. Maybe I will bring Nico & he can be your college mascot? He is as fast as a horse!

ps) Never begin a sentence with "And" like I just did. I'm a bad example!! ;-) Have fun in the sun! :-) xxxxxxxx

2011-01-27 @ 21:37:57

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0